Compact Nursing License States October 2023


Chloe’ Sizer | November 1st, 2023

As of October 2023, there are 41 states and two territories that are compact for nursing through the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC). The NLC allows nurses to hold a single multistate license that is valid in all compact states. This makes it easier for nurses to move and work in different states without having to obtain multiple licenses.

The following states and territories are compact for nursing as of October 2023:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam (partially implemented)
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania (partially implemented)
  • Rhode Island (awaiting implementation)
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington (partially implemented)
  • West Virginia (RN & LPN)
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Nurses who live in a compact state can apply for a multistate license through their state’s board of nursing. Once they have a multistate license, they can work in any compact state without having to obtain an additional license.

The NLC is a valuable tool for nurses who want to have the flexibility to work in different states. It can also be helpful for nurses who need to move to a new state for personal reasons. If you are a nurse, I encourage you to learn more about the NLC and to see if it is right for you.

Have additional questions? Reach out, we’re here to help!


If you aren’t already heading to your next assignment, let’s chat! 😊

Email [email protected] to get connected with a recruiter!

Apply Here to get started today!

Would you like to be alerted when new jobs are posted?